adventures of a mere mortal in fitness and life

Hahaha…as you can see, I have been a bit remiss about posting up my training on here. I had a stomach bug that flattened me for about a week the second week of April, and it’s been tough coming back. In addition, I changed up my strength training a bit last week and thus was able to *directly* pinpoint the movement that aggravates my shoulder. Yikes. I used to really, really like pushups. 😉

Here’s a few workouts from the last couple of weeks. I did go 4/13-4/17 without swimming at all because I was so sick.

Saturday 4/11
500 WU
6×200- variable speed 50s- slow, med, fast, slow. 1st one has 2 slow 50s, 2nd one has 2 medium 50s, 3 one has 2 fast 50s, Randomize. Repeat
6×150- 50 fast, 50 drill, 50 medium
6×100- Descending 100s 1-3
100 cool down

I had some pain in my low back during flipturns and felt myself starting to compensate to complete the movement. I stopped doing flipturns and went for open turns. This change slowed me down a bit, but better than not doing anything.

Saturday 4/18
400 WU
4×400 alternate swim/pull, descending time 1-2 (make the second swim or pull 400 faster than the first)
9×150 50 med, 50 stroke- fast (alternate fly, back, breast), 50 medium
8×50 25 scull/25 sprint
100 Cooldown

Sculling is supposed to improve your “feel” for the water. I honestly don’t know if it does. I know that it helps me with a few inefficiencies in my stroke, but I think “feel” is something is either born (genetics) or learned over millions of reps. I’m sure no new swimmer wants to hear that, but that is what I know. Here’s a good sculling video- they explain how to do it as a forward motion about 3 minutes in:

Wednesday 4/22

400 WarmUp
Here’s the only set I remember, LOL.
2x (300 drill, 250-50 fast/50 ez, 200 kick, 150 -25 fast/25 ex, 100 scull , 50 sprint)

Friday 4/24 
World’s shortest workout 😉
400 warmup
16×100 Descending time 1-4 (repeat 4 times)–
These I held pretty steadily, which I take as a good sign of improved endurance. I could hold the same times for all the 100s as I could in the first set by the 4th set. In fact, I wasn’t even going to do a 4th set, but I had a little extra time and wanted to see if I could go. Which I did. 2 months ago I was not able to do this across more than 2 sets of these.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

