adventures of a mere mortal in fitness and life

So this week was better and slightly more consistent than the previous two weeks. I hit most of my key workouts, with the exception of my early in the week swim- it just didn’t happen on Monday. My workout schedule basically goes lift/swim/lift/swim, etc. I mix some kettlebell swinging and other kinds of “finishers” into my lifting days. You could say I have a hard time following a strict regimen, so although it’s all written down, I don’t always follow it to a “T”. I do a lot of listening to how I feel, how much sleep I have had, or how my eating is going. For example, Monday I was supposed to swim, but I didn’t get to it in time to hit it before the aerobics ladies got in the pool, and there were several annoying incidents that led to that delay, so I was pretty irritated by the time I got to workout. So I put myself through a pretty grueling set of swings, followed by a few rounds of tabata, some intervals on the Jacob’s Ladder, etc. I felt a million times better after that– something I probably would not have achieved swimming.

On that note, Friday’s quickie swim was another example of listening to your body. After a week of little sleep and busy schedules, I felt a little depleted today. I figured I could knock out an intense, shorter session with the time I had available. The main set was supposed to be 12×100, sets of 4, descending 1-4 (meaning each one is faster than the one before). By #6, my HR was sky high and I was tired. I knew I should scrap the set and so I did. I swam for the remainder of the time I had left very slowly and resolved to get a better night’s sleep for Saturday’s morning swim.

Saturday was a treat because I took a friend up to Hartland to swim at the “real” pool– the one with salt water and 6 WHOLE lanes. We got there right on time, and I plowed through as much yardage as I could make in an hour.

Saturday, March 28
400 WU
800 Time Trial — this is one of my progress meters. Todays time: 10:52
2×400 – 50 swim, 50 drill
4×200 pull
400 Cooldown- backstroke/ breastroke

So about 2 miles in an hour.

From Wednesday, March 25:
500 WU
Variable Speed 50s Pyramid- 50, 100, 150, 200, 150, 100, 50 (speeds were fast, medium, slow in a made up pattern)
4×200 IM- 25 drill, 25 swim (because let’s be honest, I don’t think I could swim a whole 50 fly very pretty) đŸ˜‰
200 Cooldown

My shoulders feel excellent. They are not tired after a 3000+ yard workout anymore. That’s a very good sign of progress.

Even though my energy was a little low this week from terrible sleeping, I did have some motivation arrive in the mail. Since our swim is a fundraiser for Habitat for Humanity, I have received a couple of letters and pictures from the families that we will be helping. This one arrived this week, and it gave me goosebumps!

hfh photo

Happy swimming!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

