adventures of a mere mortal in fitness and life

tests of endurance

Oh wow!  Where did the time go?  I wrapped up the last post pretty smugly and then promptly went about undoing everything… well, not everything, that’s just a tad overdramatic…

Anyhow, that last race really ripped through my hip and it has bothered me since such that I was waking up in serious pain in the night by the next weekend.  I saw an ortho doctor Monday 8/26 and he pronounced gluteus medius tendonitis (I’m paraphrasing at this point, so don’t get all up in my grill about whether this is a real condition because it probably isn’t).  Physical therapy has ensued, for which I feel like a real loser, since there are people who are actually re-habbing knees, hips, etc. in there, and the physical therapist explained succinctly that my “insurance company doesn’t care if I want to run a marathon someday” so he scaled down my answer to his broad question, “What do I want to be able to do?” (Answer: Um… everything?  What else would the answer be?) into understandable insurance-accepted terms.  Anyhow, I digress.  He also told me I should NOT do the Island Lake triathlon that was last Thursday evening, which was a real bummer.  I thought I could do one more race this season to somehow redeem a rather lackluster racing summer for both myself and Mr. Prepared.  Instead, I flushed $65 down the toilet and settled into a funk.

Between that news on Tuesday and the news that we wouldn’t close on our house last week as planned, I was pretty discouraged.  I believe I *might* have threatened to move back to Colorado.  I may have eaten more than my fair share of chocolate.  And while I was completely aware of what I was doing and what was happening, I could feel myself caving.  What I should have realized at the time was that these setbacks were just another type of challenge, a different type of endurance test.  And while I think I am pretty good at the kind of endurance tests that involve a wetsuit, a bike, and/or a pair of running shoes, I see that I need to apply my racing or training mindset to life a little better.

In a race when you feel like shit, you usually come to point where you cave or dig deeper.  Caving means it’s over- you’re gonna pay the rest of the race because your mind will continue to tell you how terrible you’re feeling for every step the rest of the way.  Digging deeper takes a bag of tricks.  I like to use positive mantras and when in real doubt, I make imaginary bargaining agreements with my body.  The second doesn’t really translate well to real life, but I know that keeping focused on the positive — mantras or otherwise– helps me to dig deeper.  I have so many blessings to be thankful for– the fact I can afford medical care, we sold our house in CO, my girls are safe and happy, and that we are together as a family.  So when I am neck deep in unpacking, painting, and facing some other disaster next week, I am going to keep these positive messages in my mind and I will hitting my stride (literally and figuratively!) soon enough.

truth quote

Comments on: "tests of endurance" (1)

  1. jyaukey@dc.rr.com said:

    Susan what a wonderful blog about where you are at — I am so proud of you kepp doing this as it is good for you andfor us to know where you are at – in thinking, feeling, emotionaly and physically. Hope this week goes ok Mom

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

