adventures of a mere mortal in fitness and life

evil genius…

(Credit: Swim Bike Mom)

Yeah, yeah, I haven’t posted much in the last month or so here on treadmillconfessional.  I have been super busy, blah, blah, excuse, but one of my main problems has been how to explain via the blog everything that has happened in the last couple of months.  So I will spare you the details and sift through it as necessary.  I have 2 weeks left until my first Olympic triathlon, and I am super excited excited like, can we get this rolling yet?  I feel like I have been in a holding pattern waiting to race.  And I feel good and ready to race.  And one of the reasons I feel so ready to race is because I have a new wingwoman on my side.  Her new name, as of 2 hours and 57 minutes into my workout today, is Coach Evil Genius.  As I am huffing and puffing toward home on my 3 hour (3! hours!) brick workout today, I was thinking, “Oh. My. God. This is so evil.  She is so evil.”  But then I acknowledged all these improvements I have made in the last month or so, and I realized that even though she is evil, she must also be a genius.

I mean, who can figure out just from reading my online reports of workouts that I could run faster?  Coach Evil Genius.  She puts little comments in my workout plans like “think cadence, cadence, cadence!” like she must know that without those repeated, exclamated phrases, I will run like I have all the time in the world.  Slow and steady wins the race, right?  Nope.  Not in evil genius world.  Did I mention the track workouts?  I think I have to reserve a whole post to talk smack about track workouts, so that will come.  It’s my new least favorite thing- pretty much far surpassing that time during TRX classes when you have to put your feet in the stirrups like you’re at the gynecologist’s office.  But, just like TRX (or my annual pap smear), I realize I need it.  And sometimes, just sometimes, for like a minute or two, I absolutely love it.  Not the pap smear… the track workout.

I am super excited about all the evil genius work I have been doing.  I really hope I get to see the payoff when I race in a couple of weeks.  And even though I don’t want to get ahead of myself, I am thrilled about the prospect of working with Coach Evil Genius to prepare for next season and work on some off-season goals too.  It’s gonna be awesome!

Comments on: "evil genius…" (3)

  1. All the best on your Olympic race!

  2. All the best on your race!

  3. how was the race/!?!?!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

