adventures of a mere mortal in fitness and life

Sarah and my dear friend Lauren enjoying the ride!

On the eve of my birthday, I think it’s hilarious (now that I have had a “few” if you catch my drift) that my husband just admitted that the hotel in which we are “holed up” (and truly, it may not be safe to set foot outside) is on the top 10 worst places he has ever stayed.  This comes from a man who believes that getting the best deal may be the most important feature of a hotel.  I have watched him pay $26 in South Lake Tahoe (in season), and argue at $49 for the last room on a hot summer night in Missoula, Montana.  He might be right about this place-I mean, when have you last been in a hotel where the phone doesn’t work?  One could argue that moments like these remind us that it’s all about the JOURNEY… or is it?

Christine and I have this running argument about whether life/training/work/ etc. is indeed all about the journey.  She argues that the “journey” is all crap, and it’s about going all out, all the time.  Which I have to say served me pretty well in my race when I knew I had to go all out.  And if you treat life like a race, you are always going all-out.  I feel like I spent a good portion of this past semester going “all-out” to make sure I did well at everything I did.  Did I enjoy the journey? Not always.  Did I accomplish a lot?  You bet I did.  I taught 11 credits (4 shy of a “full load”); did my stay-at-home mom thing with the girls on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays; got an “A” in my math class; created my adult instructor portfolio for state review; served on a brand new college-wide committee; lost 30 pounds; and trained for a triathlon.  The journey wasn’t always pretty to look at–sometimes I had to focus on going “balls to the wall” so I could keep my head above water.  Maybe without that mentality, I might not have made it this semester.

  But there are times I see value in the “journey” theory.  Trainer Guy and I had a good treadmill confessional about this theory before I left.  I need to take things for what they are, and deal with them as they are, and learn how to react differently than how I used to.  I see value in viewing things and events as “just things” or from a “best light” angle, instead of focusing in on how shitty or horrible something is going to be.  We have had some news in our family recently that really shows me how my thinking has changed.  Instead of freaking out and getting upset, I could look at the news more objectively, focus on what needed to be done, and hope for positive outcomes.  Instead of worrying that the worst case might happen, I didn’t worry at all, and the best possible outcome (out of a few bad choices, let’s be honest) was the case. 

I am curious as to how others think about adversity or challenge.  I recently read the book Who Moved My Cheese?  to review it for a class I am teaching this summer.  One of the posts from the littlepeople in the book was “What Would You Do If You Were Not Afraid?”  This really stuck with me during my race, and I think it will continue to move with me as I make decisions going forward.  Let me know what your best ideas for dealing with difficult situations are- do you relish “the journey” or say screw it and go all-out?

my road crew in action…Pacific Coast Highway, CA

Of course, it’s much easier to see the best possible outcome when you went ahead and booked the nicest hotel in the next town…just to be on the safe side.  I won’t tell him until we’re almost there– I want to enjoy tomorrow’s journey too, ya know.  😉

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

