adventures of a mere mortal in fitness and life

Here we go!

We made it!

To the end of the semester and the ski season, that is…and now it’s vacation time!  The hubby and I dreamed up a ridiculous 18 day road trip with the kiddos, and we leave tomorrow.  Of course, everyone is sick and the house is a mess, but it wouldn’t be an adventure if there was no challenge, right?

The Land Yacht, aka the Suburban we bought in February, is not apparently large enough to fit all of our stuff.  (For the record, I wanted a Wagon Queen Family Truckster, but those are a little harder to come by).  The hubs last night told me that we definitely needed to add the roof box to the top of the behemoth monster that we drive.  And we just got a bike rack last week. Every time he accelerates, I start counting, “One dollar, two dollars, three…”

The land yacht

My top choice was rejected.

Hopefully, it will be our trusty steed (and home) for the next couple of weeks.  And it’s the official crew vehicle, since I will be doing the IronGirl Lake Las Vegas triathlon (I know! So exciting!) this weekend and Taylor will wrap up our trip at the Silver State 50 near Reno in a couple of weeks.  I think the jury is still out on whether or not we are warping our children by designing vacations pretty exclusively around racing.  Trainer Guy thinks we are being “good role models”, while I think that someday they may rebel and become coach potatoes.

Since I have contracted the Black Lung from my children earlier this week, I tried to hold a pity party for myself about my potential race performance.  Trainer Guy and my husband both told me to get over it, so instead I am focusing on the important things, like these cool, new speed laces that match my shoes exactly:

It’s the little things that excite me.

And the super fancy sleeveless wetsuit Christine let me borrow.  I wore it this morning to swim practice.  It’s pretty awesomely buoyant.  And, it is easy to take off, which has been my #1 fear going into this race, since it took me about 27 minutes to take off my full-sleeve wetsuit at Highline Lake a couple of weeks ago.

It looks even cooler right side out.

 So, no matter what happens or how I feel, I am VERY excited to go and see the spectacle that is a 700-woman triathlon event, even if I fall down taking off my wetsuit in T1, or get a flat tire, or win (hahahaha).  Because after that our road trip consists of seeing family and friends, camping along the coast in California, going to Yosemite, and being in and around Lake Tahoe.  So hit me up with suggestions— for my race, for sights to visit, if I can use your washing machine, or something like that!  I’ll send pics!  🙂

Comments on: "Here we go!" (6)

  1. Hey! Best of luck to you guys on your races and family adventure! And I agree with Trainer Guy, you are being great role models for your kids. They will thank you someday. Keep up the hard work. I will look forward to reading your updates!! 🍀

    • Thanks Jenny! Can’t wait to catch up when we come back!!!

      • . I connected to your blog from Emily’s blog at JDC. Question: What traiinng program did you use for sprint triathlon? I have been going back and forth on doing one or not and your post has inspired me. keep posting your posts are inspiring young mothers all the way across the country! (I am a born and raised florida girl

      • Hi Kiesha! You should absolutely do it! When I did my first sprint, I just used a plan from beginnertriathlete.com– you can choose from a lot of their free plans. I chose a bike focused one because I had never had a road bike and I needed to spend a lot of time just learning to ride it, LOL. Good luck!!!

  2. Thanks in support of sharing such a nice thinking, paragraph is
    good, thats why i have read it fully

  3. You really make it seem so easy with your presntation but I
    find this topic too be really one thing that I feel I would never understand.
    It sort of feels too complex and very hufe forr
    me. I am having a look ahad on your next put up, I will attempt to get the hold of it!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

